My thoughts are stars I can't fathom into constellations — John Green

Some Questions

As I sit on the massive quadrangle in the middle of my university, I keep being reminded of something that hit me hard at the Reason Rally. I can’t even remember who said it, but they ended their speech with, “Why isn’t this world enough for you?”

I don’t even mean the stuff. I type this on an iPad with a keyboard that attaches to it straight through the air, but just the straight up, untouched, crazy, natural world. How can you look at that and think you’re important? I’m sitting on a pillow of soft green grass. There are birds chirping all around. The sun warms my back. How do you want more? I don’t think I’m worthy of what we do have, but that’s not the point. It doesn’t matter what I deserve, because against all kinds of crazy odds, we are here. We have this one world and it’s aweesome.

I keep noticing how similar I sound to some old preachers.
“Look at this world. How can you deny you’ve been gifted this world?”
I do think it’s a gift. A fantastic, accidental, crazy gift in the same way that great hair is a gift. It’s an accident I’m thankful for more so than a gift.
I look at the same things preachers think are obvious reasons there must be a god and think, “How could you ask for more?” What could possibly make you think this isn’t enough? And how can you be satisfied with anything or anyone if the best this world has to give you isn’t enough?

That’s what’s been on my mind today. I’ll get to the mental health stuff soon. I was just so taken aback by this perfect day that I needed to ask some questions.

Comments on: "Some Questions" (1)

  1. “A fantastic, accidental, crazy gift in the same way that great hair is a gift.”
    I am going to enjoy reading this blog 😀

Leave a comment